New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Forum to discuss the new Dual Core Rikomagic MK802 IIIS (bluetooth) Mini PC

Moderators: KEgg, twjordo, tatubias

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby crackinhedz » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:08 am

forgive me for being a retard, but I cannot find the "recover" button, sure I see the opening that has a little groove in it, at least its the one I think it is...but what am I pushing?? Im using a paper clip.

Instructions to this process are terrible. Can't even find a decent video tutorial.
crackinhedz
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:58 am

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby crackinhedz » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:45 am

ok, I found the button after opening the casing...i hold the button and connect via usb otg...release the button after a few seconds...nothing happens.
I must be doing something wrong.

Are there any other cables that need to be connected?
crackinhedz
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:58 am

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby oaxaca » Wed Jan 23, 2013 1:54 am

Hold down the reset button while plugging in the usb to your computer. Then release the button.
oaxaca
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 4:05 am

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby crackinhedz » Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:22 am

yeah I finally got the combination to work, blue light came on, but gave me "device driver not installed" bs. Now I cannot get it to connect.

Very frustrating procedure.

EDIT: finally able to install driver manually.
crackinhedz
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 1:58 am

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby felix80 » Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:03 am

Hi Folks,

I reflashed with the new image hoping to fix the flash-based web browsing capabilities. After upgrading, my device cannot connect with my wifi router. The device connected to my wifi just fine before the upgrade.

frustrating...


Same problem for me... I can´t connet to wifi anymore
felix80
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 11:00 am

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby andykirby » Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:00 pm

Yes its better to install the drivers manually. For anyone else having trouble see this guide...posted today

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=3942
andykirby
Site Admin
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 7:48 pm

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby Moszad » Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:32 pm

OK, now i have the latest version on the mk802IIIs, version 0121

It's much better, but, when streaming large amount of data it still locks up and reboots, i tried web streaming from danish DR1, netflix, streaming from my own NAS.
It runs fine for 1-3 minutes, then locks up and mostly it reboots after some sec.

Improved a lot on signal stringth, dunno why, havent changed anything regarding antenna or location.
MAc stays the same.
Status text on the wifi connection is now correct.
Streaming a radio channel and surfing at the same time works fine, haven't seen this causing any trouble.

I hope you keep working on the wifi issues.

Anyone know of a confirmed working USB ethernet dongle ?

BTW: Very good user guide for reflashing :-)
Moszad
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby mistereq » Fri Jan 25, 2013 9:45 am

I have still freezing and rebooting issues afret upgrade. Annoying ..
The ethernet dongle I'm using with MK802-IIIS is http://www.edimax.com/en/produce_detail ... &pl2_id=26

Works without any problems.
mistereq
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2013 9:51 am

Re: New Firm MK802-IIIs (20-Jan-2013) WIFI & Mac Address FIX

Postby blizzet » Fri Jan 25, 2013 2:03 pm

I got a couple of these ones.
http://www.geekbuying.com/item/USB-2-0- ... 13020.html

Geekbuying says they have tested them to work properly with mk802III etc. And since they recommend it I don't doubt it.
It works for me, but neither me or any of my friends get more than 4MBPS per second with them. Tested on both MK802III and IIIS.

I don't know if newer firmwares might have changed this? Any other that has tested these ones from Geekbuying and got higher speeds?
I bought one in Sweden that is working at high speed though from "König".
blizzet
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:02 pm


PreviousNext

Return to Rikomagic MK802 IIIS Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests