Newbie, please help with update

Forum to discuss the new Dual Core Rikomagic MK802 IIIS (bluetooth) Mini PC

Moderators: KEgg, twjordo, tatubias

Newbie, please help with update

Postby dbwster » Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:32 am

I'm new to this A friend upgraded his equipment and gave me his old MK802 IIIS/8G(B)
XBMC is not quite working right, has some livestream tv channels, most of them are slow, picture quality is not so good including HD channels and it's quite frustrating that it's buffering all the time. I'm in Canada so I downloaded the Canada On Demand add-on, all the channels shows a picture when I select it but they all error out when I tried to run. Most of the video add-ons takes a long time to start then some errored out.
I think maybe I need to update the firmware.
I checked "About device" and it's showing:
- Andoid version 4.1.1
- Kenel version 8.0.3 zs@hotack-desktop#106 SMP PREEMPT Wed Apr 10 13:37:36 CST 2013
- Build number MK802IIIS_ANDROID4.1.1-SDK-v.00.1015
I came to this forum, downloaded the update, followed the instructions to download and copy the file Rikomagic S8B_20131107.img onto a micro SD card.
Plugged it into the device, no update prompt. I powered it off and on again, still no update prompt.
I plugged the device to my W7 laptop, it doesn't see it, check Device Manager, nothing new there, scanned for hardware changes, nothing.
I then renamed the file on the microSD card to update.img, still nothing.

I thought it suppose to automatically come up and ask me if I want to update but regardless what I tried, nothing comes up.

I'm baffled, I have no idea what to do next. Please help.
dbwster

Re: Newbie, please help with update

Postby twjordo » Thu Feb 26, 2015 6:00 am

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=3942#p10525

that is the flashing tutorial :ugeek: