Page 1 of 1

Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:58 pm
by andykirby
Pretty cool feature on ubuntu lets you remote desktop into the MK802 from any computer using a basic VNC viewer.

This is a pic viewing the Mk802 ubuntu desktop from my iMac (theres also half a siamese cat showing some interest too :D )

Image

:ugeek:

Re: Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:05 am
by Different
It looks cool. Cat too ;)
But more interesting would be the use MK802 as a remote terminal. Because performance of AllWinner A10 is not very high.

Re: Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2012 3:34 pm
by ruffnutts
You should check out teamviewer remote desktop for android, iOS Windows and Mac you can login to you pc via the MK802 to control your pc like you was sitting infront of it its great anywhere in the world

http://www.teamviewer.com/en/index.aspx

BTW Iäm new to the forum Hi all :lol:

Re: Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:07 am
by zydila
Can you, plz, explane how you did it? I first time use Ubuntu, and I have problems with VNC...

Re: Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 8:20 am
by ruffnutts
zydila wrote:Can you, plz, explane how you did it? I first time use Ubuntu, and I have problems with VNC...


The way I will be doing it is not with ubuntu its a app for android called team viewer - you load that up on the MK802 then log into your pc decktop from there so you can use your PC desktop on your MK802 :)

ruffnutts 8-)

Re: Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 4:04 pm
by KEgg
Doing the same as ruffnuts and sticking with Android... not using 'Team Viewer' though. Using 'Jump Desktop' as my VNC/RDP client for local/external Ubuntu and Windows machines. Also using 'NeoRouter VPN Pro' to allow me to easily and securely tunnel into machines or browse/copy files outside of my home network...

Have also set up a VNC Server on the MK802 for those moment when the Mrs is watching TV... its slow but allows me to view without claiming the TV ;)

Image
and just to mess things up.. VNC to a laptop of mine that fits the 720p res
Image

Jump Desktop ::
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.p5sys.android.jump&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwyLDEsImNvbS5wNXN5cy5hbmRyb2lkLmp1bXAiXQ..

VNCS
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1476648

NeoRouter VPN Pro (Android client)
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.neorouter.androidpro&feature=search_result#?t=W251bGwsMSwxLDEsImNvbS5uZW9yb3V0ZXIuYW5kcm9pZHBybyJd

NeoRouter Website
http://www.neorouter.com/

Re: Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2012 1:09 am
by joseph
Hello

It is very cool and awesome.
Please would you explain step by step?

Thanks

Re: Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:02 pm
by juarez
Hi,

I installed Lubuntu image and tryied to use VNC, but i only got a screen with a big 'X' and nothing more. Any tip?

Thanks!

Re: Remote Desktop

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:58 am
by Stephen
andykirby wrote:Pretty cool feature on ubuntu lets you remote desktop into the MK802 from any computer using a basic VNC viewer.

This is a pic viewing the Mk802 ubuntu desktop from my iMac (theres also half a siamese cat showing some interest too :D )

Image

:ugeek:

Andy, is it possible to configure this from command line? When I try to launch "x11vnc server" from terminal I get the following error:
08/06/2013 23:26:07 x11vnc version: 0.9.12 lastmod: 2010-09-09 pid: 1367
08/06/2013 23:26:07 XOpenDisplay("") failed.
08/06/2013 23:26:07 Trying again with XAUTHLOCALHOSTNAME=localhost ...
08/06/2013 23:26:07
08/06/2013 23:26:07 *** XOpenDisplay failed. No -display or DISPLAY.
08/06/2013 23:26:07 *** Trying ":0" in 4 seconds. Press Ctrl-C to abort.
08/06/2013 23:26:07 *** 1 2 3 4
08/06/2013 23:26:11 XOpenDisplay(":0") failed.


This is for a headless setup over SSH