Page 3 of 4

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 7:24 pm
by EnvyThisStuff
When it seems to turn itself off for good, does the power light go off too? But when it's suspended the light stays on?

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 12:50 am
by chesterx
The led stays on all the time [but when the unit shuts of from power button and I beleive one hour of inactivity it shuts done and unit temp drops dramatically.

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:20 am
by EnvyThisStuff
This certainly implies a functional and cooperative interaction between hardware and software if you ask me. Hmmm.

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:02 am
by chesterx
2+ hours and still not shutdown yet but I am, its bedtime. So I know now its between 2&12 hrs of inactivity. It takes so long to check because everytime I hit the power button and it turns on it resets the inactivity timer and you have to start the clock all over again.

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:04 am
by bittinker
No apps/widgets/shutdown -r/shutdown -h will work, it's a software problem.

It's a known issue that shutdown doesn't work, the A10 kernel doesn't support fbcon (ie text mode), which is needed to shutdown (and to switch to other virtual terminals, etc). The result is that the kernel hangs when you do something that requires fbcon.

See https://github.com/amery/linux-allwinner/issues/6

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 5:51 pm
by krillerkrak
I got crash down on my MG802 1GB and was not able to enter Google's Android shop or my Gmail after making the hard shut down.

A normal reboot of the pc was not enough to get it going again.. So I reinstalled it but the same problem happened 3 times.

Them I read this post and decided to try the app "Fast Reboot" to do a soft shut down – that worked!

No need to buy the Fast Reboot Pro :D

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:45 pm
by EnvyThisStuff
KK, it's unclear what happened to your 802, nor how Fast Reboot fixes it. Sounds like you had an app stuck in memory for some reason though?

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:06 pm
by chesterx
bittinker wrote:No apps/widgets/shutdown -r/shutdown -h will work, it's a software problem.

It's a known issue that shutdown doesn't work, the A10 kernel doesn't support fbcon (ie text mode), which is needed to shutdown (and to switch to other virtual terminals, etc). The result is that the kernel hangs when you do something that requires fbcon.

See https://github.com/amery/linux-allwinner/issues/6
.


Yes and by using Elixir I created an icon which uses a shortcut to romtoolbox command. I used shutdown-r/shutdown-h and it does a nice shutdown.

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 6:13 pm
by chesterx
chesterx wrote:
bittinker wrote:No apps/widgets/shutdown -r/shutdown -h will work, it's a software problem.

It's a known issue that shutdown doesn't work, the A10 kernel doesn't support fbcon (ie text mode), which is needed to shutdown (and to switch to other virtual terminals, etc). The result is that the kernel hangs when you do something that requires fbcon.

See https://github.com/amery/linux-allwinner/issues/6
.


Yes and by using Elixir I created an icon which uses a shortcut to romtoolbox command. I used shutdown-r/shutdown-h and it does a nice shutdown.


BUT NOT ANYMORE, WHAT THE. HELL, WORKED. ONCE NOW SAYS RUNNING SHUTDOWN... BUT NOT SHUTTING DOWN. BACK TO DRAWING BOARD.

Re: Shutdown app and widget

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:04 pm
by EnvyThisStuff
It sounds like there is conditions where it will work but that they are for the most part random, so not to be depended upon.