DroidMote on MK802

Forum to discuss the Rikomagic MK802 Mini PC

Moderators: KEgg, twjordo, tatubias

DroidMote on MK802

Postby zulu99 » Tue Jun 26, 2012 8:12 pm

Premise:

MK802 with DroidMote inside is an "economic special google tv". Special because, without touch screen you can use all apps and games that support only touch actions. (and not only...) The MK802 has sufficient hardware (my model is 512MB ram), but have inside a very very bad ROM. The Android community we're working on to improve. With this video i want only demonstrate how well run DroidMote with a mini device like this (i hope with better hardware), and how many things you can do. To install DroidMote on this device there is a little hack because the rom for now, lacks many basic components. In 99% of the Android devices the installation is automatic,and requires no actions.

Video of DroidMote in action on MK802:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Keancvm07uo

Instructions for installation are on xda developer
zulu99
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:38 am

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby tbosa » Tue Jun 26, 2012 9:07 pm

Thank you! This is EXACTLY what I was looking for so I could use my phone and tablet to control the MK802
tbosa
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:18 am

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby unrealdtc » Thu Jun 28, 2012 8:29 am

Big thanks!

How did you manage to compile the kernel module?
unrealdtc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 9:17 am

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby andykirby » Fri Jun 29, 2012 9:49 am

Great news,

Theres now a custom image for use in Livesuit that includes uinput so theres no need for any extra steps, simply install the firmware below, then install the droidmote apps and you are away!

The links are below:

MK802 Droidmote Livesuit image
Droidmote Client
Droidmote Server
XDA Developers Discussion

Now that it is now possible to create custom images that can be installed internally on the MK802 we will be able to create both Android and Linux ROM's, this is really going to open up the possibilities for this platform. These are very exciting times indeed - and another example of how the hacking community moves much faster than the manufacturers :D

Andy
andykirby
Site Admin
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 7:48 pm

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby EnvyThisStuff » Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:13 pm

So minus Droidmote access does this image provide anything else?
Run into a problem? Need ***Mini PC/MK802 services***?
(installing firmware, installing LINUX, getting/setting up SD cards, etc)
Contact us! http://www.EnvyThisStuff.com
EnvyThisStuff
 
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:57 am
Location: New York City

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby KEgg » Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:28 pm

EnvyThisStuff wrote:So minus Droidmote access does this image provide anything else?


Was wondering the same thing myself... so installed it.. answer seems to be no... :(
KEgg
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 12:12 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby andykirby » Fri Jun 29, 2012 12:54 pm

The main reason for this firmware is to enable uinput in the Kernel which allows droidmote to work. It may also help other problems where certain keyboards dont work. I havent been able to test it though because my keyboard (Logitech K400) works fine. Other than that there should be no improvements.

Now that the community can create images like this, which can easily be installed via Livesuit we will likely see a lot of images popping up that will fix the other issues we have been talking about, its just a matter of time.
andykirby
Site Admin
 
Posts: 339
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 7:48 pm

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby chesterx » Fri Jun 29, 2012 6:38 pm

Having trouble downloading img file. Is server up?
chesterx
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby chesterx » Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:52 pm

I LIKE IT! :)
chesterx
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:51 pm

Re: DroidMote on MK802

Postby twjordo » Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:56 am

is a different rom available for the mk802 1gb ram model ? i am experiencing some bugs using the rom for droidmote for 512mb devices
mk802IV w/ mk702IIair mouse ~ mk802+ 1gb ram 4 gb storage ~ mk802II 1gb ram 4gb storage ~ mk802IIIs 1gb ram 8gb storage with 4port usb running wireless mouse/kboard and red samurai bt gaming controller ~ mk808b 1gb ram 8gb storage
check out TechKnow
twjordo
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:07 am
Location: tennessee usa

Next

Return to Rikomagic MK802 Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron