Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

Forum to discuss the Rikomagic MK802 Mini PC

Moderators: KEgg, twjordo, tatubias

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

Postby formone » Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:57 pm

MysticWhiteDragon,

Can you please expand on this "I plugged the power USB cable to one of the USB ports on the lapdock.". I didn't think the power for the MK802 comes through USB.
formone
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

Postby nasomi » Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:27 pm

The MK802 can be powered either via the ac adapter to the little plug, or through the mini usb port. I have it plugged in to the usb port on my tv which powers my device, which allows me to be "wire free" so to say.
nasomi
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

Postby nasomi » Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:31 pm

NiTrOwow wrote:Looks really really cool! I like linux.
I was planning to buy this one too (mk802). But i really need one with two usb ports :( And the mk802 unfortunately does not have two ports.
So i go for the MK805 with the Allwinner A10 (Boxchip) cortex A8 @1.5Ghz Including 1GB DDR3 Ram (shared with the gpu). Enough to play full hd movies and to browse the web without any modifications i hope.

Maybe i'll mod the device later when i began to find it boring haha..

MK802 has 2 usb ports. You can use the mini to full size usb adapter to utilize the mini usb port to plug in a mouse or keyboard. Personally my mouse and keyboard are through the same dongle. I've also heard of people using usb hubs as well.
nasomi
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 11:07 pm

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

Postby Coldbird » Fri Oct 19, 2012 7:34 pm

Using the armhf Linaro Image as base plus a few hickup-resolvings (like the asound.conf issue, ntfs-3g, etc.) - I can run a quite okay desktop environment (given the hardware this is running on) using a Amazon Essentials 8$ USB HUB.

Takes the mouse, takes the keyboard, takes my harddrives and usb flash drives, and it also takes my Meizu MX4 cellphone and even charges it while being docked.
Thats what I mean by saying "getting the most out of my 5v".
Coldbird
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

Postby swedski » Sat Oct 20, 2012 6:50 pm

Have you postd an image?
I would love to try it
J
swedski
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 4:56 am

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

Postby formone » Fri Nov 09, 2012 3:27 pm

Thanks nasomi.

Does anyone here know how to run linux under non-HD resolutions ie. more PC desktop like resolutions like 1024x768 or 1280x768 etc. ?
formone
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

Postby baklazanek » Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:25 pm

nasomi wrote:
NiTrOwow wrote:Looks really really cool! I like linux.
I was planning to buy this one too (mk802). But i really need one with two usb ports :( And the mk802 unfortunately does not have two ports.
So i go for the MK805 with the Allwinner A10 (Boxchip) cortex A8 @1.5Ghz Including 1GB DDR3 Ram (shared with the gpu). Enough to play full hd movies and to browse the web without any modifications i hope.

Maybe i'll mod the device later when i began to find it boring haha..

MK802 has 2 usb ports. You can use the mini to full size usb adapter to utilize the mini usb port to plug in a mouse or keyboard. Personally my mouse and keyboard are through the same dongle. I've also heard of people using usb hubs as well.

is it common that only one usb port is working?
baklazanek
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 3:23 pm

Previous

Return to Rikomagic MK802 Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests

cron