Page 3 of 4

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 7:10 am
by EnvyThisStuff
g2000 wrote:.... my experience with the Linux distro's (flavors) wasn't as great as I expected. I tried a few of them but I ended up going back to Android OS...


Curious in your case what the issues you ran into with LINUX were?

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:18 pm
by g2000
EnvyThisStuff wrote:Curious in your case what the issues you ran into with LINUX were?


From a performance standpoint any distro I tried I found was slow or should I say slower than the Android OS - which is to be expected. One of the things I wanted to try was converting mk802 into a linux retro gaming pc and without opengl it aint happening.

It is understood that this is all a "work in progress", alot of apps wont work on the arm architecture and so on but at this point in time I cant see myself or using this as a Linux desktop computer when it cant even do the basics for me - watch a youtube video, play a game etc.

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 12:39 am
by bc4mk802
Follow-up to my previous post, apologies, Andy as I see the source for the image file is:
Xubuntu 12.05 with the XFCE desktop (image courtesy of Miniand)

However, can you make any suggestion having successfully used this Image???
thanks
BC

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 4:46 am
by Demo1
I want to build system that cost less money, less electricity consume and will do record to external USB HDD any time Full HD resolution on motion combined with multiple web cameras :)

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:51 am
by MysticWhiteDragon
Demo1 wrote:I want to build system that cost less money, less electricity consume and will do record to external USB HDD any time Full HD resolution on motion combined with multiple web cameras :)


Sorry but you won't be able to record multiple Full HD streams on this device. 768x576 @ 25fps encodes 17fps.

http://youtu.be/xbbfyWmmsKE?t=10m34s.

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 5:38 pm
by Demo1
MysticWhiteDragon wrote:
Demo1 wrote:I want to build system that cost less money, less electricity consume and will do record to external USB HDD any time Full HD resolution on motion combined with multiple web cameras :)


Sorry but you won't be able to record multiple Full HD streams on this device. 768x576 @ 25fps encodes 17fps.

http://youtu.be/xbbfyWmmsKE?t=10m34s.


Yes I see to slow and to low resolution, will wait for dual core Rikomagic version, I guess will enough power to record multiple Full HD streams on newer version device :? .

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 2:12 pm
by Roger-H
I want to use my MK802 II as a desktop PC, but can someone recommend a USB Ethernet adapter that will work well with it? Also, will an extra Micro USB charger from a cell phone work as a power source?

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:42 pm
by NiTrOwow
Looks really really cool! I like linux.
I was planning to buy this one too (mk802). But i really need one with two usb ports :( And the mk802 unfortunately does not have two ports.
So i go for the MK805 with the Allwinner A10 (Boxchip) cortex A8 @1.5Ghz Including 1GB DDR3 Ram (shared with the gpu). Enough to play full hd movies and to browse the web without any modifications i hope.

Maybe i'll mod the device later when i began to find it boring haha..

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2012 9:07 pm
by aafrie2
Can I ask Andy to supply information on how to modify the Motorola Atrix to use the mk802+ to use as a laptop?

Thanks very much,
Andy

Re: Using the Rikomagic MK802 as a desktop computer.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 3:53 pm
by MysticWhiteDragon
aafrie2 wrote:Can I ask Andy to supply information on how to modify the Motorola Atrix to use the mk802+ to use as a laptop?

Thanks very much,
Andy


I have 2 Raspberry Pi, 1 Oval Elephant, and 2 Rikomagic MK802 II. They all work fine using the method from http://rpidock.blogspot.com/2012/05/raspberry-pi-and-motorola-lapdock.html on my Atrix lapdock. Adapters may be different for the connectors to the HDMI depending on male/female gender.

Note: I plugged the power USB cable to one of the USB ports on the lapdock. I then used the USB port on the MK802 to connect to the micro USB port next to the micro HDMI port.

I hope this helps.