Page 1 of 1

any plex users here?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:36 pm
by merlin2049er
I picked up my mk802 along with a wireless mini keyboard to replace my apple TV (2nd gen). Hopefully, I'll get this running plex soon.

Any other android apps worth downloading?

Re: any plex users here?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:38 am
by jwshale
merlin2049er wrote:I picked up my mk802 along with a wireless mini keyboard to replace my apple TV (2nd gen). Hopefully, I'll get this running plex soon.

Any other android apps worth downloading?


I have Plex running on my MK802 II. It seems to work pretty well actually, although it doesn't quite manage unlimited bit-rate 1080p. If I drop the bit-rate down to 4Mbps or so then all my HD movies play very smoothly.

For the minimal cost of the device, I'm pretty happy with it!

Re: any plex users here?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2012 2:00 pm
by merlin2049er
Great, as long as I can stream 720p without a problem.

Most my stuff is in SD.

Re: any plex users here?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 7:03 pm
by rodrigo4t
Hi guys,

Saw this topic on first day, but only today got some spare time do manage plex to work on my MK802. It's by far the best combination of streaming server and device I tried so far, better than use my sattelite receptor with tversity and way better than streaming video from my pc through airvideo server + ipad + appletv.

I've watched the whole second season of falling skies, all episoes in 720p with a 12 Mbits bitrate streaming. My server is connected to my LAN using a cheap wi-fi USB dongle and a 50 bucks crappy 802N tplink router. Had no choppiness in image, the video is smooth. subtitles are displayed OK, audio is a little bit on the lower volume, but that's no big deal

The best of all is that transcoding is way faster than using airvideo server + appletv.

Re: any plex users here?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 8:32 am
by jazzymc
I run plex on a MK802II and it plays smooth most 720p and some 1080p videos. The main problem I have are the subtitles, they are transcoded in the video so I can't change their size, also I didn't find option to change the subtitles size in the media server too.

Re: any plex users here?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 3:17 pm
by g2000
Been running plex on my MK802 since the day I got it. Works great! Dont really have anything with subs to test but overall the performance is solid!

Re: any plex users here?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 3:35 am
by genosyde
Yes, until XBMC with support for hardware decoding comes along, Plex seems to be best solution for now.

Re: any plex users here?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:11 am
by ofirbb
Can anyone post their setup parameters for using plex server on a PC and plex client on the MK802 II ?

Thanks