Page 5 of 19

Re: Linux for MK802

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:18 am
by chesterx
Wasn't this posted on the minand site where they discussed loading several of the linex platforms for the mk802?

Re: Linux for MK802

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:40 pm
by carlosguedes
Hello Friends!!! It was great to hear that andy rocked mk802! I tryed this image and everything goes fine.


I'm having a little problem that i think my friends here should help me.


I set up everything ok, booted and the system started. After that, i was wandering how can i access the LINUX terminal (without the X stuff)

Like when you give CTRL+ALT+1, 2,3,4 (or F1,F2...).

I tryed to install tinywm on this installation and for some mistake i made i lost the X. And would like to recover it using a direct shell login (being able to access shell login in my TV.)

Can you guys give me some directions on how to activate this ttys?


Thanks in advance friends.!

Best regards

Carlos

Re: Linux for MK802

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:57 pm
by carlosguedes
Guys, is it possible to enable TTY console on this Distro?! How?

Thanks

Re: Linux for MK802

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 12:15 pm
by EnvyThisStuff
I'm pretty sure I read somewhere (not here) that virtual terminals were not yet set up for this device.

Re: Linux for MK802

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 4:21 am
by Zaatour36
Thank you Andy soooo much!


I had a problem with the screen not showing Address bar/Menu at the top, and thanks to a link from @ EnvyThisStuff which is so freaking helpful :D


So, I changed the settings from my TV, a Dynex, under Video Advanced Settings, and disabled the "Overscan". Boom! it worked!

From miniand.com (https://www.miniand.com/forums/forums/1/topics/109)
"
For Overscan Issues:
Despite the new Linux distros sending out signals in the proper resolution, your monitor may automatically try to (or have been preset to) compensate for overscanning. This is different from the simple zoom functions you might use for widening the image. Usually a quick look through your monitor's Video Settings (particularly in the Advanced Settings portion of things) you're likely to find an option related to the Display Area or something similar (eg. I have a cheap Best Buy Dynex LCD TV, and the option appears literally as "Overscan"). Toying with this option will likely solve your problems.
"

thanks guys, and will post any other issues (hopefully all good ;) )

@Zaatour36

Re: Linux for MK802

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2012 3:09 pm
by carlosguedes
Thank you Envy!

Re: bluetooth does not work

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 5:30 am
by kudlinux
Guys,

Could someone help me with the bluetooth. I use 512 MB image, but my RII mini keyboard is not recognized by linux.

Re: Linux for MK802

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:07 pm
by EnvyThisStuff
I don't have BT... it sounds like you'll need to get into Preferences/Bluetooth Manager... you're problem is catch-22 though, since you can't use the keyboard to get in to set up the same keyboard. So if you have another wireless or wire device, you may have to use that first, as I don't know if the default is to do auto-pairing or something like that.

Re: bluetooth does not work

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:13 pm
by Zaatour36
kudlinux wrote:Guys,

Could someone help me with the bluetooth. I use 512 MB image, but my RII mini keyboard is not recognized by linux.


My Logitech K700 wireless keyboard worked perfectly without any problems!

I don't have Bluetooth to test things out though.

Re: Linux for MK802

PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 1:18 pm
by EnvyThisStuff
K700 is 2.4 RF though.