Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Forum to discuss the Dual Core Rikomagic MK802 III Mini PC

Moderators: KEgg, twjordo, tatubias

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby linuxerwang » Tue Dec 04, 2012 3:55 pm

I updated it to the latest rikomagic firmware and it's successfully rooted. But I can't see the device from my laptop through android developer tool.

In Android/settings/USB, I checked the "Connect to PC" option, and in "Developer Options" I checked "USB debugging".
Then I connect the tv box to my laptop. I use "adb devices", but it shows nothing.
Where can the problem be?

Thanks.
linuxerwang
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby MFrank » Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:02 pm

bill wrote:Today Rikomagic factory released a new firmware for MK802 III, New firmware more stable, more interest;
Here is the download link:
http://www.sendspace.com/pro/dl/xrjnx4

Fixed list:
1. rooted.
2. Added mobile phone remote function,even can play somatic games.
(manual detail pls refer to manual)
3. Added wifi hotspot.(manual detail pls refer to manual)
4. solved some HUB,USB LAN adapter compatibility problems.




:D :D :D :D :D
MFrank
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 11:38 am

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby bilboaz » Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:44 pm

I just wanted to tell all those ones who having trouble with firmware update using sd card - You can do the same with a DOK (thumb drive) - Just copy the update.zip to the drive root and reboot the mk802 III. Wait for the firmware update confirmation message and confirm (It should take a minute or two until it shows up because the mk802 III automatically copies the update.zip into the internal memory before).

I did it twice (two different updates) and worked great.
Of course - you'll need a USB hub so you'll be able to use the DOK and the mouse at the same time.
bilboaz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:37 pm

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby linuxerwang » Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:06 am

Solved. I went through a whole long path to make it work:

1) I suspect it's the 1129 firmware then I tried to use the recovery firmware but it broke the device and I have no home screen.
2) So I downloaded the recovery tool from w2comp.com and flash it from window xp (found my eeepc which has xp). I shortcuted the 6-7 pins to let windows install driver. Succeeded.
3) Followed another thread ("Detailed Rooting Guide") to root it with Moborobo. Succeeded.
4) Followed the slatedroid.com to install ubuntu 12.10. Succeeded.

So now I have a wonderful ubuntu running on it and that's the single reason I buy it.

Note: the 1129 firmware might be correctly rooted. But somehow I can not flash the recovery image with the RKAndroidTool, perhaps because the driver doesn't work for windows 7.
linuxerwang
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:58 am

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby catt » Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:10 am

I have flashed this firmware onto my new MK802III, the 8gb white version. However I have no wireless-n! It's advertised as supporting 802.11 b/g/n, however Wifi Analyzer shows no 5ghz options at all. Like it doesn't exist.

So Rikomagic, where is my 5ghz wireless-n wifi??
Last edited by catt on Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
catt
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:46 am

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby Abbesnabb » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:04 am

Should the updates be installed in sequence or is it OK to go from original (October) firmware to the latest version?
Abbesnabb
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:28 am

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby adamforeman » Thu Dec 06, 2012 4:49 pm

Abbesnabb wrote:Should the updates be installed in sequence or is it OK to go from original (October) firmware to the latest version?


Straight over the top on any version. The update file will update everything.
===========
Android PC Stick: Rikomagic DUAL CORE MK802 III 1Gb/8Gb with 32Gb SD Card (Class 10)
adamforeman
 
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:29 am

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby Esoterik » Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:11 pm

I had problems with mine when updated to the 20121129 firmware. It seemed like the mouse input would get all laggy (almost unusable) when the device was fully loaded (like opening an app, playing a video etc.). Also, where Plex would stream videos perfectly before, it would now only play a few seconds then stop for 5-10 seconds, then play a few more seconds, then stop, then play etc.
I managed to roll back to the Nov 15 firmware using this the tool from this post:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2725
I connected the micro usb cable from my MK802 III to the usb of my Win 7 laptop, then put the MK802 into "Connect to PC" mode from the settings. I also made sure USB Debugging was turned OFF. The computer then detected it, and I told it to install the drivers that was located in the "Drivers" sub folder of what I downloaded from that other post.
A few more tips: On the Batch tool, the first button at the bottom is Language, so click it then choose the second option to put it in english. I loaded the .img file that came with the download as it was the Nov 15 firmware in img form. Once the drivers were installed and the device recognized by the Batch tool, I pressed the "Switch" button which put my MK802 into recovery mode I think, then I pressed the "Upgrade" button a bit later and it flashed the firmware.
Now my device is working perfectly with mouse and Plex plays flawlessly without encoding over wifi (even my 20GB Avatar rip).
Esoterik
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby Esoterik » Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:40 pm

It seems that according to here:
http://www.freaktab.com/showthread.php? ... #post39482
The custom "Finless" ROM for the UG802 works on the MK802 III. There are links to the ROM in that forum.
Esoterik
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:59 pm

Re: Rikomagic MK802 III New firmwware20121129

Postby Itch3R » Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:42 pm

Regarding cons from that list, restart can be done by pressing alt+ctrl+del. Also CPU clock is only software limited. Hw is 1.6 GHz dual core :)
Itch3R
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:33 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Rikomagic MK802 III Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron