1080p support

Forum to discuss the Dual Core Rikomagic MK802 III Mini PC

Moderators: KEgg, twjordo, tatubias

1080p support

Postby mk802iii » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:31 am

How can I get 1080p resolution support? The device (MK802iii) specs claim it supports 1080p, but when I try switching to either 1920x1080p-60 or 1920x1080p-50, the TV screen goes black, and then returns to the original 1280x720p-60 mode.
mk802iii
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:20 am

Re: 1080p support

Postby wololo » Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:50 am

I think the default firmware doesn't support it. Try with a different rom such as Finless
( viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3813&p=9929 )
Review of the MK802 IV - Review of the MK802 III - Review of the air mouse MK702 II
My list of 10 "Must Have" apps for your Android TV (2014 edition)
Tutorial: watch Netflix outside of the US (this method works way better than VPN!)
wololo
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:37 am

Re: 1080p support

Postby gsurath » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:52 am

The MK802III supports 1080p once you apply the 29/11 firmware. My TV now shows a resolution of 1080. I just flashed the new firmware and it was done. Before the firmware flash, I was getting 720p as input.
gsurath
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:48 am

Re: 1080p support

Postby mk802iii » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:56 am

wololo wrote:I think the default firmware doesn't support it. Try with a different rom such as Finless
( viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3813&p=9929 )

Hm..., why do you think that? Any particular reasons? Do you actually know that 1080p is not supported?
...about the other firmware, thanks, but no thanks.
I am suspicious about firmware recommended by a forum post, especially the one that doesn't provide any details about it. If you know that some other firmware does work, provide details, as well as the info source, otherwise, don't waste your time.

PS: If you are the author of the mk802iii review in your sig, perhaps you could add that 1080p doesn't work, which is, more or less, the basics of any review . It would be two months too late, but better later then never.
Last edited by mk802iii on Mon Mar 18, 2013 9:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
mk802iii
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:20 am

Re: 1080p support

Postby Wolfsteen » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:25 pm

You may use Finless ROM. It´s real 1080p ROM, stable and fast.
Wolfsteen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 1:27 pm

Re: 1080p support

Postby wololo » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:59 pm

mk802iii wrote:
I am suspicious about firmware recommended by a forum post

Well if you think forum answers are suspicious, don't ask your questions in a forum :) . I haven't tried that firmware myself which is why I didnt give much details, but google for it and you will see that this firmware has a very good reputation. I wasn't aware that the latest official firmware fixes the issue. I actually sit so far from my tv that I dont need 1080.
PS: If you are the author of the mk802iii review in your sig, perhaps you could add that 1080p doesn't work, which is . It would be two months too late, but better later then never.

Yeah, I should update it, There are a couple issues that got fixed too, I should publish an update.
Review of the MK802 IV - Review of the MK802 III - Review of the air mouse MK702 II
My list of 10 "Must Have" apps for your Android TV (2014 edition)
Tutorial: watch Netflix outside of the US (this method works way better than VPN!)
wololo
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:37 am

Re: 1080p support

Postby mk802iii » Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:38 am

gsurath wrote:The MK802III supports 1080p once you apply the 29/11 firmware. My TV now shows a resolution of 1080. I just flashed the new firmware and it was done. Before the firmware flash, I was getting 720p as input.

Our unit arrived with the latest 29/11 firmware, but I re-flashed anyway. It made no difference. The TV is a 37" LG, by the way.
mk802iii
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:20 am

Re: 1080p support

Postby gsurath » Tue Feb 19, 2013 8:47 am

That's starnge. I flashed the 29/11 firmware and then selected 1080p from the settings and adjusted the scaling a bit. I have a 47 inch 1080p Skyworth TV. Are you sure your TV is a full HD TV? I heard some TVs have compatibility issues as they are not detected as 1080p capable.
gsurath
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:48 am

Re: 1080p support

Postby Itch3R » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:52 pm

Remember that 1080p issue with MK802III is only in software. Hardware is capable to display this resolution, but there was a problem that 1080p was only interpolated 720p. The fact that your TV displays that it is getting 1080p from the device doesnt mean that original source of picture is also full HD. You can check your real resolution here: http://www.whatismyscreenresolution.com/
It is only amateurs guess but I think that when full HD video is processed to 720p and than interpolated back to 1080p, It can make a difference in smoothness of playback.
Itch3R
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:33 pm

Re: 1080p support

Postby mk802iii » Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:06 pm

gsurath wrote:That's starnge. I flashed the 29/11 firmware and then selected 1080p from the settings and adjusted the scaling a bit. I have a 47 inch 1080p Skyworth TV. Are you sure your TV is a full HD TV? I heard some TVs have compatibility issues as they are not detected as 1080p capable.

I am pretty sure the TV supports 1080p. Will have to dig up its manual to double check that. Can you please try that web site Itch3R suggested, http://www.whatismyscreenresolution.com/, and check what resolution it reports.


Itch3R wrote:Remember that 1080p issue with MK802III is only in software. Hardware is capable to display this resolution, but there was a problem that 1080p was only interpolated 720p. The fact that your TV displays that it is getting 1080p from the device doesnt mean that original source of picture is also full HD. You can check your real resolution here: http://www.whatismyscreenresolution.com/
It is only amateurs guess but I think that when full HD video is processed to 720p and than interpolated back to 1080p, It can make a difference in smoothness of playback.

So, what resolution does that site report for you? It's very strange indeed. If you are right, then, apparently all reviewers and most users have completely missed the lack of 1080p. Is it possible that it doesn't work for anyone, and no one notice?
mk802iii
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:20 am

Next

Return to Rikomagic MK802 III Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests