MK802 iii clones

Forum to discuss the Dual Core Rikomagic MK802 III Mini PC

Moderators: KEgg, twjordo, tatubias

MK802 iii clones

Postby p12 » Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:55 am

Hello all. I am sorry if I have made a new topic for nothing, but I have not found any other that discusses this issue.

I have recently received what was supposed to be a mk802 iii. The packaging was not from Rikomagic, but the device looks like it is. There is no blue led for power indication. When I powered it up the boot logo was R-BOX.

To my surprize the wifi worked like a charm. Then I got busy an reflashed it with finless 1.7. After that the WiFi did not work anymore. Also the pc connection does not work until I short the two pins for "reset".

And while I was looking for the pins to short I also discovered that the wifi antenna is not on a wire, but it is a full pcb antenna, and that there seems to be a few components missing.

My question now is: which device do I have and what firmware does it use, does finless have a version for it.

Pictures below:

photo 2.jpg
Second side
photo 2.jpg (250.04 KiB) Viewed 4065 times

photo 1.jpg
One side
photo 1.jpg (232.99 KiB) Viewed 4065 times

photo 3.jpg
Casing
photo 3.jpg (207.5 KiB) Viewed 4065 times
p12
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:13 am

Re: MK802 iii clones

Postby twjordo » Sat Jun 01, 2013 7:17 am

what does it say the wifi chip is?

determine it then look at this list

Image
mk802IV w/ mk702IIair mouse ~ mk802+ 1gb ram 4 gb storage ~ mk802II 1gb ram 4gb storage ~ mk802IIIs 1gb ram 8gb storage with 4port usb running wireless mouse/kboard and red samurai bt gaming controller ~ mk808b 1gb ram 8gb storage
check out TechKnow
twjordo
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:07 am
Location: tennessee usa

Re: MK802 iii clones

Postby p12 » Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:24 am

Mine has a Realtek RTL8188eus. So by the upper list makes it a MK802 iii or Neo G4, except that those do not have the "RTL" mark, but that probably means that the RTL mark is not written down in the table. ?
p12
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:13 am

Re: MK802 iii clones

Postby wololo » Mon Jun 03, 2013 7:54 am

What's fishy about your model is that my MK802 III has a serial number on it, where you only just have the android character

Image

Other than that, your stuff looks like the real deal... what company would go as far as putting the brand name on their product? Rikomagic doesn't yet have a status that warrants fakes to reuse its name?
Review of the MK802 IV - Review of the MK802 III - Review of the air mouse MK702 II
My list of 10 "Must Have" apps for your Android TV (2014 edition)
Tutorial: watch Netflix outside of the US (this method works way better than VPN!)
wololo
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 2:37 am

Re: MK802 iii clones

Postby p12 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:09 pm

Yes exactly. My previous MK802 was the real deal. So that is why I am now wondering if anyone knows what could it be. Keep in mind that it has no blue LED, and that it has a PCB WiFi antenna.

Does anybody have a clue what it is? Ive checked the list above, but I doubt it is a Neo G4. The factory logo was R-BOX on boot up
.
p12
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:13 am

Re: MK802 iii clones

Postby twjordo » Mon Jun 03, 2013 2:22 pm

p12 wrote:Yes exactly. My previous MK802 was the real deal. So that is why I am now wondering if anyone knows what could it be. Keep in mind that it has no blue LED, and that it has a PCB WiFi antenna.

Does anybody have a clue what it is? Ive checked the list above, but I doubt it is a Neo G4. The factory logo was R-BOX on boot up
.


r-box is used on some of the mk809II's ???? :?: ???? - but those have a different style case and wifi chip... :twisted: clones are hard to determine :twisted:
mk802IV w/ mk702IIair mouse ~ mk802+ 1gb ram 4 gb storage ~ mk802II 1gb ram 4gb storage ~ mk802IIIs 1gb ram 8gb storage with 4port usb running wireless mouse/kboard and red samurai bt gaming controller ~ mk808b 1gb ram 8gb storage
check out TechKnow
twjordo
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 6:07 am
Location: tennessee usa

Re: MK802 iii clones

Postby p12 » Mon Jun 03, 2013 9:01 pm

So it looks like I'm stuck for now. Or at least until someone can shed some light on the matter.
p12
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:13 am

Re: MK802 iii clones

Postby p12 » Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:11 pm

Ok after some more research I have found some info, that my hardware could be an OEM MK802 III or something like that. Anybody knows any thing about those ?
p12
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:13 am


Return to Rikomagic MK802 III Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests